Interview with Boomie of Strawberry Censor Cosplay

Fem Gon Destroyer--2

Name: Boomie

Age: 😉

Location: California

Q: So when did you start cosplaying?

Boomie: It was during Fanime 2009 that I first dressed up as a ninja. 😄 But official first cosplay was 2010 as Xiao Qiao from Dynasty Warrior 6~

Q: You were at the NorCal Summer 2013 gathering. What character were you cosplaying there as?

Boomie: I was a Gon Destroyer from Blade & Soul Online.

Q: What would you say is the most enjoyable part about cosplaying?

Boomie: The best part about cosplay is getting into character and being able to play as someone else for a day. The best parts is when fans of the series/game recognize my cosplay and tell me how happy they are to see their favorite characters come to life. I would also say that the cosplay community is great as well. I met a lot of wonderful and talented friends through cosplay.

Q: In your opinion what are the Pros and Cons about cosplaying?

Boomie: Okay as many people know, cosplay is a very, very expensive hobby. Money plays a big part in cosplay for wigs, costume (whether you buy or make), shoes, weapon…etc. Its a lot of commitment and time consuming. But that’s the reason I think cosplay so great. Its a lot of work and dedication so it should be highly appreciated. But when you’re in cosplay and at a con, its very satisfying to know it was worth it. I spend a lot of time on a costume to only wear it only once (usually, rarely rewears) for a few hours but it makes me feel good to see the costume come together and look decent xD. Pros are its a good experience and it helps unleash your inner geek. ♥

Q: If skills, and money weren’t an issue what would be your dream character to cosplay as?

Boomie: I would want to make a full body armor cosplay. Like a gundam-type (Busou Shinki) or Monster Hunter like armor. Its usually costly to buy that much materials to make it so that would be awesome. I want to be able to start working with more solid material like clay as well. Maybe one day…xD

Q: What cosplay are you most proud of that you’ve made?

Boomie: Recently, there has been a few that I got really good feedback for so they have become my pride and joy. My Angel Valkyrie OC, Tsukumo from Karneval, and of course the B&S Destroyer with the axe.

Q: Do you have any tips for people who want to start cosplaying?

Boomie: If this is your first time and you want to start cosplaying, I recommend to really sit down and figure out which cosplay you really want to do. Then do all your research and plan out how you’re going to save for/make this costume. Its important to have a plan before you dive into it. There are tons of tutorials and forums online that will help you out. Remember that its a fun hobby so take time to enjoy yourself and the con as well. Don’t stress yourself out with the cosplay all day. If its uncomfortable, change and go hang out with friends or shopping in the dealers.

Q: Aside from cosplaying what other hobbies do you enjoy?

Boomie: I really enjoy drawing and sketching. Basically obsesses with being a mangaka. Before cosplay, I was very determined to go to an art university. But now that I have cosplay as my artistic outlet, I can focus on my other major.

Q: What character(s) can we look forward to seeing you cosplay as in the future?

Boomie: At Anime Expo, I’ll be bringing Ayane from Ninja Gaiden and Erza Scarlet from Fairy Tails. Then for Japan Expo, Lyn from Fire Emblem and many more.

Q: If any fans wanted to see your costumes what future conventions will fans be able to see you at?

Boomie: So far, I will be attending Anime Expo, Japan Expo, Anime Icon, and Sacanime. All other cons are unconfirmed as of now. 😄

Q: Thank you for being part of this interview, and are there any last words that you would like to say the to the readers?

Boomie: Thank you for allowing me to share my experience and I hope it helped!

You’re Welcome, and it was a pleasure working with you. If you would like to check out more of this cosplayers work please check out one of her websites:

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/StrawberryCensor
Deviant Art: http://soweluki.deviantart.com/

Leave a Reply

