Interview with LovingChii

Chii (12 of 12)

Name: LovingChii

Age: N/A

Location: California

Q: So how long have you been cosplaying?

LovingChii: Proudly cosplaying Since 2007!

Q: Now what made you want to start cosplaying?

LovingChii: Well to start, I never knew what “Cosplay” meant even though I was already making costumes. Throughout my life, I was always into video games and anime. I’ve always thought to myself “it would looked cool to look like that character from that video game/anime”. My first costume was a Sailor Moon costume for Halloween. I recycled an old costume as the base and hand sewn everything else. When I wore it to school a friend really admired my costume and asked me if I was going to wear my costume at an anime con. I never even knew that anime cons existed! Through some research I discovered what cosplaying was and realized that there was an entire community that loved the same things I do.

Q: For this shoot your were cosplaying a character named Chii from the Chobit series. Is there a reason why you decided to make this cosplay?

LovingChii: I absolutely LOVE Chobits to no end. Chii from Chobits has been my dream cosplay for several years. Chii has many beautiful outfits but there is one dress that I saw as a challenge, it was her pink lolita dress with tons of ruffles. There have been many occasions where I was just going to purchase the cosplay dress because I felt that I didn’t have adequate sewing skills. After lots of youtube videos on sewing and reading on how to sew, I accepted the challenge and created that pink lolita dress! Many people wonder why I love chobits so much and I have to say it’s the most unique love story I have ever read. A story that includes impossible love, lolita fashion, and robots, what’s not to love!

Q: What do you enjoy most about cosplaying?

LovingChii: The thing I most enjoy about cosplaying is creating the outfits to represent the characters. There is just something really satisfying after putting in the effort in creating and completing the costume. Cosplaying to me is a form of art and I want to represent the character the best that I can.

Q: In your opinion what are the Pros and Cons about cosplaying?

LovingChii: 

Pros:
-Meeting great people and making new friends!
-Creating something that you love
-Always gaining new skills throughout the whole process.

Cons:
-(In some cases) sacrificing your comfort to pull off the cosplay.
-Costly if you make a lot of mistakes!
-Forgetting to eat >>;;

Q: If skills, and money weren’t an issue what would be your dream character to cosplay as.

LovingChii: Queen of blades Kerrigan from Starcraft. I really love the Starcraft series and Zerg is my main race when I play.

Q: Do you have any tips for people who want to start cosplaying?

LovingChii: PLAN PLAN PLAN. Good planning will help in the long run with how much time and money that will be spent on the cosplay. Be resourceful with your Cosplay! Being creative with what you can make with what you have can really have surprising outcomes.

Q: Aside from cosplaying what other hobbies do you enjoy?

LovingChii: I like to do a lot of artistic things so I draw/paint, create hair accessories, or create jewelery.

Q: What character(s) can we look forward to seeing you cosplay as in the future?

LovingChii: I won’t give all of my plans away but here is a small list to what I plan on making.
League of Legends – Redeemed Riven
Accel World – Chiyuri
Soul Eater – Patty

Q: If any fans wanted to see your costumes what future conventions will fans be able to see you at?

LovingChii: I may attend other smaller cons this year but here are the lists of conventions that I will attend for sure. Hope to meet more people this year!
Anime Expo 2013
AnimeiCon 2013

Thank you for being part of this interview, and are there any last words that you would like to say the to the readers?

LovingChii: Thanks to everyone who has been following me and support my hobby. I hope to be able to continue to create many more cosplays in the future! I hope to also inspire and help future cosplayers as well as current cosplayers! If you are just starting a cosplay I am happy to help answer any related questions! Just send a message to my facebook page!

Nicely said LovingChii, if you would like to follow this cosplayers work please check out her facebook page here:

Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/LovingChii

Leave a Reply

