Interview with Charmie Sweets

Kyoko Sakura from Puella Magi

Kyoko Sakura from Puella Magi

Name: Charmie Sweets

Age: 23!

Location: Nevada 🙂

Q: So when did you start cosplaying, and what was your first character you cosplayed as?

Charmie: My first cosplay was in 2009 or 2010, I think… I’d begun watching the live action Sailor Moon, and I really fell in love with Sailor Mercury’s character! Plus I’d already liked her in the anime and manga, so I did kind of a mash up of those versions!!
UNFORTUNATELY it wasn’t a very good one, haha!! I ordered the cosplay from a sketch seller on eBay which was awful, plus I didn’t even have a proper wig, I spray painted my hair blue instead! aahhh! But regardless I had SO much fun!! People at cons are SO friendly and supportive, it didn’t matter that it was my first costume or if it wasn’t the best either! People were so kind, I was so happy! That first time cosplaying will always be a nice, warm memory for me! 🙂

Q: What made you want to start cosplaying?

Charmie: Oh gosh, I’ve honestly wanted to cosplay FOREVER! I never thought I would be capable of it though, LOL!! Being able to attend cons and dress up as my favorite characters is seriously like a dream come true for me, as corny as that may come off! My first real encounter with cosplay was at a small anime event that the local university put on every Halloween. I was in either high school or middle school at the time! WindoftheStars (a cosplayer I really look up to!) was the president there, and she hosted the event as Sailor Moon. She looked so beautiful
and the costume was so amazing, I was in awe!! I’d always known of cosplay and It really seemed like a far off dream for me; something I would love to do, but I honestly thought it was something I would never be capable of. But seeing a real life person cosplaying versus just pictures on the internet, and doing the character so well to boot was kind of inspiring for me! ❤

Q: What character(s) did you cosplay as during the SacAnime Winter 2013?

Charmie: I cosplayed three!! ❤
Rei’s junior high outfit from Sailor Moon, Kyoko from Puella Magi Madoka Magika and Jewelry Bonney from One Piece! 🙂

Q: What do you enjoy most about cosplaying?

Charmie: Oh gosh, there are a million things that are so satisfying and rewarding about it! I think the first would definitely be all the people and friends I’ve made through cons. I feel kinda unworthy at times; I have so many beautiful, talented people in my life because of cosplay. I’ve been so blessed. Sometimes I don’t get to talk to people as much as I’d love to, but honestly, I appreciate every good, kind person I’ve met through the hobby! The second would be the product that comes from working with people that are SO talented. I work really hard before a con trying to get all the details on a costume where I want them, but I feel sort of
average when it comes to cosplay, LOL!! I’ve been so blessed to work with photographers/videographers that just have this like… beautiful talent and vision. It’s beyond anything I could do!! That moment when you’re having a photoshoot with someone really amazing and they snap just like… THE PERFECT PICTURE. Where everything is beautiful, the colors are vibrant, the expression and pose really let the character shine through, it’s like… I couldn’t have DREAMED it better!! Running over and peeking at a shot on the photographers’ camera after a pose seriously fills up my belly with butterflies! It’s those moments that make me really really love the hobby too!! I’m always in awe of what these people are
capable of!! aaahhh so cool! ❤

Q: In your opinion what are the Pros and Cons about cosplaying?

Charmie: The cons are the people who get mean, jealous or are closed minded and as a result feel justified in saying really unkind things!! Just because you don’t care for a person or how they chose to do a cosplay doesn’t give you a right to bully them or judge!! When I see this happening, either online or at a con, it
makes my heart sink. It’s just so sad, and mean and uncalled for. People should be able to do whatever makes them happy, regardless of what it is, and that’s not for someone to look down on! Unfortunately, this is something that will probably always happen, it’s really sad! If you’re the victim of this mean, needless bullying, just rise above it! You are a beautiful, worthwhile person, and you don’t deserve it!! Do what you love and let them get to you!! ❤

ALSO on a less serious note… Uncomfortable shoes and headaches from wigs are cons too LOL!! But all the pros completely weigh these out!! Geeking out with people who love the same series you do, meeting new friends you would have never met otherwise, the satisfying feeling of making or doing something yourself you never thought possible… HONESTLY, there are so many awesome things I can’t name them all!! 🙂

Q: If skills, and money weren’t an issue what would be your dream character to cosplay as.

Charmie: SAMUS FROM METROIDDDD ahhhhh!!! I’d really love to do both Zero Suit and Varia Suit. I love Samus. First of all, I think it’s so awesome she was one of the first heroines to ever show up in a game, and totally kick butt at the same time!! I kinda wish I could be like Samus. She’s so cool headed and tough. Even though she’s all alone most of the time, she’s so brave and SO capable! I’d looooove to cosplay her one day, but for now both versions are out of my skill reach.

But maybe one day!! ❤

Q: What costume do you feel most proud of that you’ve completed or worn?

Charmie: Jewelry Bonney!! This is the fourth cosplay I’ve made, and I feel like… SO proud of myself!! well more shocked actually!! Even though it’s really simple, I still can’t believe I made it! I’m still learning to sew, so a lot of things on this costume were very new to me! I’d never made shorts, leggings or used darts or elastic! I learned a LOT on this costume, and I’m SO pleased with how it turned
out!! 🙂

Q: Do you have any tips for people who want to start cosplaying?

Charmie: Choose a character you really really love!! A lot of times people limit their choices to who they resemble the most, but you should cosplay whoever you want! Find something that looks like it could be in your skill range and make sure it’s someone you really like! If you can’t sew, there are LOTS of options for you now, too! Lots of websites take commissions for well-made, accurate cosplay! Another option is buying cosplay used, that’s how I mainly started out! Cosplay.com has a forum and AC paradise has a market as well where cosplayers put up their used costumes. Plus when you buy from one of them, that means that your money is going towards helping another cosplayer! ❤ Always use common sense when buying from anyone though! If you have a bad feeling about the seller or something seems off, listen to that feeling!

This is how I first learned how to sew, actually! When I got a cosplay, I would look really closely at how they put it together, and after a while I even learned how to alter them to fit me better too!! 🙂

Q: Aside from cosplaying what other hobbies do you enjoy?

Charmie: I love anime and manga, but I really really love playing video games!! It’s really therapeutic to put yourself in someone else’s shoes, or just see how a story and its characters all end up playing out!! I used to only play RPGs and platformers, but now I play lots of different genres!! FPS, tactical, puzzle,
action/adventure, and even ZOMBIE GAMES!! (I’ve always been SUUUPER scared of zombies, so this is kinda a big deal for me, haha!!)

Singing is something else I really enjoy as well!! I’m really bubbly and happy most of the time, but songwriting and doing covers is something that can get me out of a funk if I ever feel down. There’s something just so therapeutic and enriching about putting all of your worries, sadness, happiness, etc. into a piece of music.

I also really enjoy spending time with my family and my animals! I have three, a golden retriever named Pepper, a little white kitty we saved named Salt and my newest kitty cat, Booshka! They’re so sweet; they bring a lot of joy in my life!! They have the funniest, sweetest personalities! ;D

Q: What character(s) can we look forward to seeing you cosplay as in the future?

Charmie: TOO MANY aahhhh!! LOL!! ❤
Right now I’m working on a Viera Archer from Final Fantasy Tactics Advance! I’ll be bringing her to AOD as well as Thriller Bark Robin from One Piece. Actually, I’m kinda obsessed with One Piece right now, so you can expect lots of cosplay from that series in the future!! Ummm, let’s see… Skirtzzz on DA made this awesome collection of FFX-2 Dresspheres for Disney

Princesses, so I’ll be doing her Gun Mage Jane from Tarzan! Also possibly some more cosplays from Madoka, Tomb Raider, FMA Brotherhood, Kiddy Grade and Rage of the Bahamut!! LIKE I SAID TOO MANY eeekkk!!
Two big projects I’d like to try this year are Princess Zelda from Twilight Princess and Princess Peach’s classic gown! I don’t know if they’ll be any good or not, but you never know until you try right? ;D

Q: If any fans wanted to see your costumes what future conventions will fans be able to see you at?

Charmie: Oh! I will be at AOD this next month cosplaying my Viera Archer as well as Jewelry Bonney and Robin from One Piece!! If you see me come say hi!!! ❤
I will be attending Fanime as well and possibly Anime Expo again!
If I plan on anymore I’ll be sure update my Facebook with that information! 🙂

Q: Thank you for being part of this interview, and are there any last words that you would like to say the
to the readers?

Charmie: Ahhh, thank you for reading! Please feel free to find me on facebook/twitter/whatever! I love making
new friends and especially learning about new cosplayers!! ❤

Thank you very much Charmie for taking time out of your day to do this interview, and thank you for allowing me to do a photoshoot with you at Sac Anime Winter 2013. I look forward to seeing more of your cosplays in the future.

Q: Do you have any extra websites that you own that you would want fans to follow you on?

Charmie: Yes!! I’m mostly active on my Facebook, but I have twitter and DA accounts you can find me on too!! I
also have a YouTube for my covers/songs/shenanigans! ^___^

http://www.facebook.com/CharmieSweets
http://charmiesweets.deviantart.com/
https://twitter.com/CharmieTweets (CharmieTweets…get it? get itttt? ;D)
http://www.youtube.com/user/xxsarachanxx

Leave a Reply

