PMX 2012 Interview with Blue Lotus

Name: Blue Lotus

Age:  36

Location: CA

Q: So when did you start cosplaying, and what was your first character you cosplayed as?

Blue Lotus:  I started cosplaying in the Summer 2010.  AX 2010 was my first convention and I attended alone.  At that time, I didn’t know anyone else in my life who liked anime/manga or was into cosplaying.  The first character I cosplayed was Daikenja from Kyo Kara Maoh.  An unpopular character in an unpopular series.  No one recognized me.  XD  I cosplayed this character to test out my sewing skills.  I figured that if I bomb this one, maybe I should just give up cosplaying.  It turned out all right.

Q: What made you want to start cosplaying?

Blue Lotus:   I have always wanted to do it since I was a teenager……. >.> Yeah, I waited that long……………. >.<  Some dreams just don’t die even when you become an adult, and it’s a good thing!

Cosplaying is a way for me to discover, explore, and express some of the minor aspects of my personality that I usually don’t express due to the fear of being judged or alienated.

Q: What character(s) did you cosplaying as during PMX?  

Blue Lotus:  I cosplayed as Adrian Fahrenheit Tepes (Alucard) from Castlevania: Symphony of the Night on the first evening of the con, and on the second day, I cosplayed as Sinbad from Magi.

Q: What do you enjoy most about cosplaying?

Blue Lotus:   Aside from expressing parts of my personality that I don’t normally express, I really enjoy fooling around with cosplaying/photographer friends, having pictures taken, offering fan service, and meeting new friends.

Q: In your opinion what are the Pros and Cons about cosplaying?

Blue Lotus: Pros –  It really is a fun way to socialize with people.  The best part is that you get to interact with your cosplaying friends in character!  Also, the cosplaying day is a day that you can act crazy and behave unlike yourself but not getting judged (well, unless you hurt others).  I guess three words can sum up the pros of cosplaying: freedom of expression.

Blue Lotus: Cons –  You’ve got to spend time, effort, and money into making the cosplay.  It can get very costly.  For elaborate cosplays, it takes a lot of time and energy to get into it.  By the time you got into it, you are tired already. >.<  Furthermore, weather can work against you cosplaying.  You can either sweat like a pig or freeze into a popsicle.

Q: If skills, and money weren’t an issue what would be your dream character to cosplay as?

Blue Lotus:  This is it. XD You’re looking at it (Alucard)!

Q: What costume do you feel most proud of that you’ve completed?

Blue Lotus:  Alucard.  This is the second cosplay that I constructed.

Q: Do you have any tips for people who want to start cosplaying?

Blue Lotus:  If you are a teen or in early 20s and have seriously considered cosplaying, don’t wait. Don’t be like me who waited too long.  I believe I would’ve had a different experience if I’d started younger.  IMO one has more fun when viewing the world from a less jaded (child or young person’s) perspective.  Adulthood gets to me… but thank god, cosplaying keeps my heart young! XD XD XD

As far as making cosplays, I think applying makeup and styling the wig are very important but often being neglected by many.  I often see great craftsmanship with a plain (unstyled) wig or oily face.  Makeup in cosplay is not just for females or female characters.  Guys or female crossplayers who shun applying makeup may only do themselves disservice.  Even male politicians need to apply makeup before a shoot or video.  Your photographer would be very grateful to you not showing up with an oily face.

Q: Aside from cosplaying what other hobbies do you enjoy?

Blue Lotus:   Oh, the usual, anime, manga, video games, and movies.  I also enjoy singing and walking (no, not so much at the same time).

Q: What character(s) can we look forward to seeing you cosplay as in the future? 

Blue Lotus:  The one for sure for now would be Undertaker from Kuroshitsuji.

Q: If any fans wanted to see your costumes what future conventions will fans be able to see you at?

Blue Lotus:  I’ll be attending ALA and AX 2013.

Q: Thank you for being part of this interview, and are there any last words that you would like to say the to the readers?  \

Blue Lotus:  Chase after your dreams like you won’t see another sunrise.

Nicely said Blue, it was great meeting you at PMX, and it was a pleasure working with you, and I hope to work again with you again at future conventions.

Leave a Reply

