Interview with Nam Nguyen

Name: Nam Nguyen or 501st ID# TK-3942

Age: N/A

Location: California

Q: So when did you start cosplaying, and what was your first character you cosplayed as?

Nam: My first costume is my Stormtrooper from Star Wars. It was also the costume used to join the 501st Legion.

Q: What made you want to start cosplaying?

Nam: Since I was little I always wanted my own Stormtrooper armor and all we had back then were those cheap fabric Halloween costumes. Now as an adult I’m able to get my own real armor.

Q: What character(s) did you cosplaying as during the Norcal Gathering?

Nam: I went as Boba Fett from Star Wars Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back.

Q: What do you enjoy most about cosplaying?

Nam: Besides being the character I always wanted to be when I was a kid, when I’m doing my 501st troops, I feel as if I can make a difference in a kid’s life when they see a real Stormtrooper. You can see their eyes light up with joy and this isn’t just limited for kids, adults too. I’m able to give them something which I never got when I was a kid.

Q: In your opinion what are the Pros and Cons about cosplaying?

Nam: Pros – Taking lots of pictures is nice. Hanging out with people who made similar costumes as yours and you can talk about how each made his or her part of a costume. But the main thing is having fun.

Nam: Cons – This is especially more specific towards Stormtrooper costumes. I really hate the tiresome repeated quotes of, “These aren’t the droids you’re looking for.” or “ Aren’t you a little short to be a Stormtrooper?” Of course the next person isn’t going to know what the last person said but it’s just something that really annoys me when trooping. Especially when they say it in a smug way. Some guy said the droids line when I was in my Boba Fett costume… I mean seriously? Other than that, the other cons would be rude people taking pictures of you when you’re not ready, creepers (especially more so for females), and just outright assholes who aren’t careful with your costumes, i.e. X Games attendees.

Q: If skills, and money weren’t an issue what would be your dream character to cosplay as?

Nam: There’s not much I can think of at the moment. I’ll have to get back to you on this.

Q: What costume do you feel most proud of that you’ve completed?

Nam: I’m most proud of my Stormtrooper armor because it was something I always wanted as a kid so this is actually a landmark in my life in terms of accomplishments.

Q: Do you have any tips for people who want to start cosplaying?

Nam: Do whatever you want to do. Don’t worry about the color of your skin, race, gender, whatever. You’re here to have fun and trust me it is. Also do a lot of research when making your costume. People would appreciate it more if more care was put into it.

Q: Aside from cosplaying what other hobbies do you enjoy?

Nam: I enjoy video games, hanging out with friends, watching anime. Just chill.

Q: What character(s) can we look forward to seeing you cosplay as in the future?

Nam: I am planning to make Captain Rex, Season 4 ver. From the Star Wars Clone Wars cartoon series currently airing on Cartoon Network. http://images4.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20120305062048/starwars/images/0/01/Rex-SWErelated.png

Q: If any fans wanted to see your costumes what future conventions will fans be able to see you at?

Nam: I try to make it to most conventions here in Northern California but I will be for sure at Fanime, SacAnime Winter, and AOD. All others are TBA.

Q: Thank you for being part of this interview, and are there any last words that you would like to say the to the readers? 

Nam: If you need any advice about Star Wars related costumes please don’t hesitate to ask.

So there you have it, if you’re in need of any advice on Star Wars related Costumes, Nam is your go to guy for this info. If you would like to follow or ask Nam and questions please check out his Facebook page.

http://www.facebook.com/nam.tri.nguyen?fref=ts

Leave a Reply

