Sac Anime (summer) 2012 Interview with Infini

Name: Infini

Age:20

Location: California

Q: So when did you start cosplaying, and what was your first character you cosplayed as?

Infini: I think cosplaying for me started way back when I used to watched the classics such as Dragonball z or Mach Go Go Go around the young age of 9. I remember wanting to become a somebody that was out of the ordinary and be somebody who was extraordinary even if just for a little while or in costume alone. My first Cosplay that I was able to do was Itachi from Naruto. That was around the age of 14. Even then i still realized the overall quality and effort that would be needed to make a good cosplay and not become your average Weeabo. Thankfully I was able to secure some funds and get most of the costume made between me and my mom but the cloak I had to order. Im still glad that I ordered it because it was a custom order from Bandai which meant it had unparalleled quality compared to others. Of course because a key component was bought I never entered any masquerades and just enjoyed cons with my best buds without ever going to gatherings.

Q: What character(s) did you cosplaying as during Sac Anime?

Infini: For sac anime I brought my Date Masamune from Sengoku Basara. Although it was in the middle of major repairs, due to damage that occurred at the last con, so it wasn’t in its best shape.

Q: What do you enjoy most about cosplaying?

Infini: I originally started cosplaying as a way to improve the con experience and never imagined I’d be this deep into it. Now I spend most of my con days cosplaying and sort of miss the days when i’d lounge around and check out all the panels with my friends. Its still amazing fun to be able to work with Photographers and other great cosplayers but things can get pretty hectic when trying to squeeze people and panels between shoots.

Q: In your opinion what are the Pros and Cons about cosplaying?

Infini: Pros for cosplaying are similar to earlier, allowing me to meet many new people and make new friends. There is also the feeling of accomplishment that I get by being able to bring to life a character from an anime series for everyone to enjoy. Cons to cosplaying in my case recently is the peace bonding and the inconveniences that props can be. The six swords that I currently use for Date Masamune are custom ordered Aluminum swords being less then half the weight of steel swords allowing me to wield three swords in each hand and reduce the weight of the costume in general. But even that only allows me to walk a short distance before my hips start to scream in agony. The sacrifices cosplayers make for realism.

Q: If skills, and money weren’t an issue what would be your dream character to cosplay as?

Infini: I have a huge list of cosplays/props to do if money wasn’t a problem. Only to name a few of the big ones is a fully working and lit up Evangelion Type 01 suit. It would have light up armor along with eyes and opening mouth. To add a nice a nice touch I want to squeeze in a fog machine into the suit so I can emit steam from the mouth the way it does when going berserk. The armor used in Macross Frontier by the SMS with folding wings and moving air foils. Then the project I am working on right now turning my car, a 1986 Mazda RX-7, into an Itasha which is to wrap the whole car in Anime decals of your favorite character, namely Ayanami Rei. Along with full strobing light effects underneath and inside the car and even along the seams where panels meet.

Q: What costume do you feel most proud of that you’ve completed?

Infini: Currently my favorite Cosplay is my current Date Masamune because of the long period of time that i have put into completeing it. Even now am tweaking it and actually intend on decreasing the weight and increasing durability so I can preform demanding action scenes that would normally be impossible in costume. Such as running and jumping while performing various sword techniques.

Q: Aside from cosplaying what other hobbies do you enjoy?

Infini: My main hobby is tuning/modifying my car and racing. Sadly this is a bit more costly then cosplaying so this comes before cosplay. My mechanical background is also the reason for my success in creating props.

Q: What character(s) can we look forward to seeing you cosplay as in the future?

Infini: I am currently thinking about doing Gilgamesh from the Fate series with his full suit of golden armor. Other then that Im currently looking for somthing complex to pull off that has to do with armor and lighting. So anything you see next will most likely wow you.

Q: If any fans wanted to see your costumes what future conventions will fans be able to see you at?

Infini: My home Con is Fanime con but I am currently making an effort to go to other cons in norcal and AX in socal.

Q: Thank you for being part of this interview, and are there any last words that you would like to say the to the readers?

Infini: My best tip is to never give up, yet stay flexible keeping your mind open to different production techniques. Also to definitely get help from someone who has experience making costumes and or props.
Try not to get carried away with a complex cosplay at first. Try starting off with something simple that doesnt require large props or armor. Chances are you will get so engrossed in getting it finished that you may not end up with the quality you originally wanted. Once you acquire better skills then try moving onto your dream cosplay because that way even if the popularity for that character starts to dwindle the quality and completeness of your cosplay will win everyones attention.

Thanks for those last words Infini, and great tip to those who want to get started in cosplaying. Be sure to look out for Infini’s cosplays at future cons in the California area.

Leave a Reply

