Hyper con 2012 Interview with Ryan

Name: Ryan

Age: I am currently 22 years old!

Location: Bay Area, California

Q: So when did you start cosplaying, and what was your first character you cosplayed as?

Ryan: I did my first cosplay in 2007 at Fanime-Con as Time Jump Hibari Kyouya from Hitman Reborn! but nothing serious, just a purple button up shirt under a suit just for good spirits. I really started liking and getting into cosplay this year at Fanime-Con 2012, my first real cosplay was Sakata Gintoki from Gintama.

Q: What made you want to start cosplaying?

Ryan: My Ex-Girlfriend who is now one of the closest girls in my life has been cosplaying for a few years now, she always wanted me to get into it but I thought I could never see myself doing it. Then i gave it a shot at Fanime-Con this year and absolutely loved participating with good spirits for Conventions. Just the idea of being the characters you always liked in your favorite shows and joining in with all the other cosplayers made me really start wanting to do it!

Q: What character(s) did you cosplaying as during Sac Anime?

Ryan: At Sac-Anime this year I cosplayed The Fourth Hokage from Naruto on Saturday, and as for Sunday I cosplayed Time Jump Hibari from Hitman Reborn! (again, lol!) and Uncursed Reborn, also from Hitman Reborn!

Q: What do you enjoy most about cosplaying?

Ryan: Just the fact that we get to get away from life and dress up as our favorite characters and meeting new friends who appereciate the same thing!

Q: In your opinion what are the Pros and Cons about cosplaying?

Ryan: hahaha! So the Pros would definitely be the heart you’d put into your outfit and just getting to put it on and going out to the cons and wearing it, after all we all are cosplaying a character we really like, right?! that itself is already awesome i think x)

Ryan: The cons would have to be…..getting into your cosplay…..and MAKING the cosplay…then getting your crazy weapons checked in hahah other than that I really enjoy the culture alot! not too much bad I can say about it!

Q: If skills, and money weren’t an issue what would be your dream character to cosplay as.

Ryan: I’d honestly have to say KAMEN RIDER KABUTO!!! hahahah! OR a very well made Wing Zero Custom!!!!!

Q: What costume do you feel most proud of that you’ve completed?

Ryan: I was very proud of my Sakata Gintoki cosplay because i really love his character, just the way he is makes me feel like I am him when I walk around lol! but since i had retired that character i would have to say Reborn! because…..I mean, every guy likes walking around in a suit right? haha!

Q: Do you have any tips for people who want to start cosplaying?

Ryan: I would suggest just doing it without worrying about looking awesome or anything like that! just do it if you want to start because it’s all about being you, being your favorite character, and having a blast at the events!!!!

Q: Aside from cosplaying what other hobbies do you enjoy?

Ryan: I enjoy cutting hair and cooking alot but I think my main hobby is dancing! dancing is my best friend and a great stress relief lol!

Q: What character(s) can we look forward to seeing you cosplay as in the future?

Ryan: I am definitely going to do Sasuke Uchiha from Naruto Shippuuden and Super Saiyan Future Trunks someday, and most likely a Gantz character too!
Also considering Ichimaru Gin from Bleach lol!

Q: If any fans wanted to see your costumes what future conventions will fans be able to see you at?

Ryan: The next even I am planning to show up is Anime L.A. in January! I will see all of you there, please come say hi!!!
not sure if I have fans, but anyone and everyone is a friend!! 🙂

Q: Thank you for being part of this interview, and are there any last words that
you would like to say the to the readers? 

Ryan: First of I’d like to say Thank YOU! for giving me an opportunity to be interviewed, thank you for giving me a chance to work with you. I’d just like to say I never ever thought i’d be into cosplaying, but this is something quite new to me and very fun. Good time to just be yourself, be your favorite characters, meet new people, travel, get stuff off your mind, and have a good time! So I hope to see whoever might be reading this at future cons, because i’d love to meet ALL of you! and i’d have to say THANK YOU FOR READING!!!
LOVE AND PEACE 🙂 !!! (Gotta bring back Trigun lol!)

Nicely said Ryan, and thank you for doing this interview, and the photo shoot, and if anyone wanted to follow your work where would they find it?

Ryan: Facebook! Feel free to add me, My name is Ryan Sarakul (Ryan Seo) on facebook, just please introduce yourselves so we can connect!!! I look forward to meeting you all!

3 thoughts on “Hyper con 2012 Interview with Ryan

Leave a Reply

