SacAnime 2012 (Summer) Interview with Drisana

Name: Drisana

Age: 21

Location: California

Q: So when did you start cosplaying, and what was your first character you cosplayed as?

Drisana: My first real cosplay was this past AOD (Animation on Display), in which I cosplayed as Ciel Phantomhive from Kuroshitsuji in his pink ball gown.

Q: What made you want to start cosplaying?

Drisana: Halloween is my all time favorite holiday, and cosplaying is like having Halloween any time you want. I love the idea that I can dress up like whoever I want and almost be a celebrity for a day. This past con I was dressed as Princess Serena and a group of girls hugged me and said, “Oh my god, I’ve seen all your movies!” It felt kind of great!

Q: What character(s) did you cosplaying as during Sac Anime?

Drisana: The first day I wore an original lolita dress and saturday and sunday I dressed as Princess Serena from Sailor Moon.

Q: What do you enjoy most about cosplaying?

Drisana: Getting to be whoever I want and entering a temporary little fantasy world.

Q: In your opinion what are the Pros and Cons about cosplaying?

Drisana: I think there are more cons when you buy your costumes instead of making them. If you buy them, it costs a lot. I only recently began making my clothes and it’s a lot easier on the wallet.

Q: If skills, and money weren’t an issue what would be your dream character to cosplay as?

Drisana: I think my dream cosplay would probably be the Kirin from Petshop of Horrors.

Q: What costume do you feel most proud of that you’ve completed?

Drisana: My Princess Serena is currently my pride and joy. 😀

Q: Do you have any tips for people who want to start cosplaying?

Drisana: Just do it. It might be a little daunting if you’ve never had any experience but if you just jump right into it it’s very rewarding and you’ll learn so much faster. If you find patterns for something similar to what you want to make, it becomes much easier to do. Just be confident in your abilities and your creativity and go for it!

Q: Aside from cosplaying what other hobbies do you enjoy?

Drisana: I like to draw, ride horses, play video games, read comics, bake (that’s probably one of my favorites), and write stories.

Q: What character(s) can we look forward to seeing you cosplay as in the future?

Drisana: Nui from Mushishi, Chi from Chobits and Lady Amalthea from The Last Unicorn.

Q: If any fans wanted to see your costumes what future conventions will fans be able to see you at?

Drisana: I’ll be at Fanime 2013 for sure and as many others as I can manage!

Q: Thank you for being part of this interview, and are there any last words that you would like to say the to the readers? 

Drisana: Believe in yourself and anything can happen!

Thank you very much Drisana for taking your time to do this interview as well as the Photo shoot. I look forward to seeing your future cosplays. If you would like to see or follow more of Drisana’s work please visit her site:

Deviant Art: http://drisanarm.deviantart.com/

Leave a Reply

