Sac-Anime 2012 (Summer) Interview with Demetria

Name: Demetria

Age: 18 years years of age soon to be 19.

Location: California

Q: So when did you start cosplaying, and what was your first character you cosplayed as?

Demetria: I started cosplaying about four years ago during Sac-Anime summer 2009, I cosplayed No-Face from Spirited away and Egypt from Hetalia.

Q: What made you want to start cosplaying?

Demetria: I always loved wearing costumes and dressing up when I was a kid. I would often go on the internet and look at all the amazing cosplays that people wore and the conventions they went to and aimed to be just like them. So I started to make horribly done costumes for school rally’s and soon enough I was told about anime conventions by a random schoolmate. Right there and then I knew I had to go to a anime convention.

Q: What character(s) did you cosplaying as during Sac Anime?

Demetria: This 2012 summer Sac-Anime I cosplayed as Wiccan from Young Avengers, Malik Al-Sayf from Assassin’s Creed and Ms.Fortune from Skullgirls.

Q: What do you enjoy most about cosplaying?

Demetria: I greatly enjoy many things about cosplaying, from making the costumes and seeing the end results, from seeing people smiles when they see the costume, to making new friends who share the same interest and are amazing people as well.
I love how cosplaying can bring people together of all sorts into a creative envoriment.

Q: In your opinion what are the Pros and Cons about cosplaying?

Demetria: There are many pros, and example is the fact you are surrounded by many creative and wonderful people who share the same hobby as you do, which it is a very easy way to get out of your shell and interact with others. The fact that one can make costumes in their own visions is also amazing, you can bounce idea’s off other people and friends to better improve your cosplay, people are happy to help.

Demetria: Cons, there are a few people who look down on cosplay and anime, I could think of a certain group of people who storm the front of Fanime everywhere, that can be very annoying.
The making of your cosplay can be quiet annoying, when you think you are done, something horrible pops up and you have to restart all over again! It’s just a horrible feeling!
There is also the fact that cosplays can be very uncomfortable at times, from the contacts, the binding, and the tight fitting costumes that just annoy you, there isn’t mush you can do if you are wearing it all day.

Q: If skills, and money weren’t an issue what would be your dream character to cosplay as?

Demetria: Oh gosh! There are so many cosplay I would do.
But as a kid I’ve always wanted to make a Enti quadsuit from Pokemon, I would love just making it look so realistic to the point people will think that pokemon were real!

Q: What costume do you feel most proud of that you’ve completed?

Demetria: My recent cosplay that I made for Sac-Anime 2012 summer, Wiccan from Young Avengers. This cosplay took so long to make! I really, really hate spandex right now because of it, but I love the outcome and how amazing it turned out to be.

Q: Do you have any tips for people who want to start cosplaying?

Demetria: Cosplay what you love and want to be, don’t let people tell you how and what to cosplay it often ruins the magic of cosplay at times.
Keep in mind that you have a time limit and budget at times, don’t be afraid to hit up the Goodwill’s or take things apart, often the things you re-use for cosplays turn out to be the best.
Don’t be afraid of mistakes, you learn from them believe me on this one I’ve made plenty of them.
Don’t be like me and leave your cosplays for a last minute sewing or working job, they often looked rushed and are not the best. DO NOT PROCATINATE! I’m still trying to practice this myself.
Have fun! This is the most important of them all.

Q: Aside from cosplaying what other hobbies do you enjoy?

Demetria: I love to draw and travel, I often love wandering into towns and cities and getting lost to find small things that people often miss, it’s tons of fun.

Q: What character(s) can we look forward to seeing you cosplay as in the future?

Crysta from Ferngully

Demetria: Shhhh! I have another but its a secret! But I will guarantee that it will be a blast from the past. I will be previewing this cosplay during Fanime 2013.

Q: If any fans wanted to see your costumes what future conventions will fans be able to see you at?

Demetria: You will be able to see me at Sac-Anime Winter 2013, Fanime 2012, AX 2013 and Comic-Con in San Diego 2013.

Q: Thank you for being part of this interview, and are there any last words that you would like to say the to the readers? (feel free to say anything).

Demetria: One does not simply dislike cosplay.
Thank you for having a interest in my cosplays, remember cosplay is all about having fun, so when you do cosplay go out there and party!

Thanks Demetria. Very nicely said, and I would like to thank you for taking time out of your day to do this interview, and it was a pleasure doing a photo shoot with you at Sac-Anime. If you would like to see or follow more of Demetria’s work, please visit one of her sites:

http://www.facebook.com/LavaAlleyCosplay
http://lava-alley-cosplay.tumblr.com/
http://peteykins.tumblr.com/

Leave a Reply

