AX 2012 Interview with Christina A.K.A. Zerina

Redeemed Riven Skin from League of Legends

Name: Christina A.K.A. Zerina

Age: A lady never tells!

Location: California

Q: What character(s) did you cosplaying as during AX 2012?

Christina: I cosplayed as Riven in her Redeemed Riven skin from League of Legends.

Q: So when did you start cosplaying, and what was your first character you cosplayed as?

Christina: I first started cosplaying back in 2007, and in 2008 I brought my first costume, a Sunwell-geared Paladin from World of Warcraft, to Blizzcon.

Q: What made you want to start cosplaying?

Christina: When I went to Blizzcon 2007, my mind was blown by seeing people dressed up as their favorite characters from various Blizzard games. They seemed to be having so much fun and they looked really awesome, so for Blizzcon 2008 I decided to try my hand at it as well. I had never really been to a convention before Blizzcon, since I lived in a small town and didn’t travel much.

Q: What do you enjoy most about cosplaying?

Christina: I greatly enjoy the creative aspect of cosplay. Before cosplay, I only dabbled in art (drawing) but I discovered I really enjoyed creating costumes. Over the years I’ve been cosplaying, I’ve learned how to sew, how to put together costumes from basic materials, how to make prop armor and weapons, ways to get different effects from various painting techniques, and all sorts of other creative skills. The things I’ve learned have really helped fuel my desire to keep creating new costumes and trying new things.

Q: In your opinion what are the Pros and Cons about cosplaying?

Christina: The pros are the people you meet and interact with by sharing the same hobby as you do. Everyone has a new or creative idea, and it’s very fun to bounce ideas off each other and go over our costume progress. I also love the satisfying feeling of finishing a costume and trying it on completed for the first time. I feel proud of myself, even if there is no one else around to show it to.

Christina: There are a few notable cons. There are people that don’t accept cosplaying as a hobby, or feel that it is childish. It is difficult and frustrating to explain to those people what you enjoy about your hobby when they see it in such a different light. Also, there are times that a costume can get uncomfortable and there isn’t much you can do about it if you’ve already committed to wearing it for an entire day. That, and stressing about finishing a costume in time for a convention (especially if you’ve been procrastinating) isn’t fun at all.

Q: If skills, and money weren’t an issue what would be your dream character to cosplay as?

Christina: I would love to cosplay as something extremely complicated and something crazy and monstrous someday; Samus Aran from Metroid in her Varia suit or Queen Azshara from World of Warcraft as her naga/octopus form with tentacles, prosthetics, the works!

Q: What costume do you feel most proud of that you’ve completed?

Christina: Recently, I’m most proud of finishing Riven in time for Anime Expo. She was a bit of a last minute costume and it took a lot of effort to finish in time for the convention. Overall, I’m most proud of my Diablo 3 Monk costume from Blizzcon 2010. That costume has been popular to the point where people think the Monk was modeled after me. While that’s not quite the case, I’m still happy I could bring life to that character.

Q: Do you have any tips for people who want to start cosplaying?

Christina: Decide on a costume with these things in mind: Time and Budget. If you don’t allow yourself enough time, you may end up with an unfinished costume and a lot of frustration, rushing through details in the process. If the costume you pick is extravagant and you don’t budget correctly, you’ll end up with another unfinished costume and even more frustration. Planning a reasonable cosplay schedule and budget is important to keep in mind. You don’t want a costume to take up your entire life, or you will not enjoy the creative process.

Q: What character(s) can we look forward to seeing you cosplay as in the future?

Christina: I would like to complete Iron Solari Leona from League of Legends; she was my initial plan for Anime Expo, but I ended up not having enough time. I would also like to create Seung Mina from Soul Calibur as well. Down the line, I have another Diablo 3 Monk costume planned.

Q: If any fans wanted to see your costumes what future conventions will fans be able to see you at?

Christina: I will be at San Diego Comic Con working for my employer, Cryptozoic Entertainment. I will not be in costume, but I will be doing videography and interviews for our website. I will also be at GenCon and PAX Prime as Vanessa VanCleef from World of Warcraft this year.

Thank you for being part of this interview, and are there any last words that you would like to say the to the readers?

Christina: Thank you for being interested in my work; I love to share my hobby experiences with everyone! Anyone can cosplay, just put your mind to it and have fun!

Very nicely said Christina, and Thank you for taking your time to do this interview with me. If you would like to see more of Christina’s amazing costumes please check out her websites:

Facebook:  facebook.com/zerinacosplay (primary)

DeviantART:  zerinax.deviantart.com

Twitter: twitter.com/ZerinaX

Cosplay: http://www.cosplay.com/member/164322/

Some more photos of Zerina’s amazing cosplay of Redeemed Riven.

Leave a Reply

